Commission for Senior Services

Camille Bertrand Chairman
Doris Andrews Vice Chairman
Mary H. Dunn Member
Charles H. Jones Member
Yvette A. Mickenberg Member
Tamath K. Rossi Member
Vacancy Member


General Information:

Seven members, one of whom shall be the Municipal Agent, appointed by the First Selectman and six of whom are appointed by the Board of Selectmen on a rotating basis: three for four year terms. Non-voting, ex-officio members may include the Senior Center Coordinator, Administrative Assistant and Lead Driver. The commission meets on the third Thursday of the month at 3:30 pm in the lounge at the Senior Center.

Powers and Duties: Promotes programs and advocates on behalf of Southbury’s elderly residents, assists the Town’s Director of Senior Services in developing policies on local issues affecting seniors. The commission also informs residents about issues related to the elderly and advocates for state and federal services and legislation on their behalf.

Qualifications: Commission members should have demonstrated interest and concern for the social needs of the elderly and be familiar with issues of health care, housing and financial needs. Most desirable, would be those with special backgrounds or experience in the related fields of business, health care, mental health, nursing and/or geriatrics.

Regular Meeting Schedule for 2017: (3:00 PM, Senior Center Lounge) 

 Commission for Senior Services usually meets 3rd Wednesday of every month
(please check calendar for possible changes)

 January 18  April 19
 July 19
 October 18
 February 15  May 17
 August 16
 November 15
 March 15  June 21
 September 13  December 13

Minutes & Agendas:

Listing files in 'Commission for Senior Services'