Historic Buildings Commission

Paul Lasewicz Chair

Robin Stiles Secretary
John Purcell Treasurer
John Dwyer Member
Melinda Elliott Member
Laura Hine Member
Vacancy Member


Mission/General Information:

The Town of Southbury owns three (3) public historic buildings, the 1762 Bullet Hill School located on Southbury’s Main Street North, and the 1783 Old Town Hall Museum and the South Britain Library, located along Route 172 in the South Britain section of Town. All are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Membership: Consists of seven (7) members appointed for terms of four (4) years on a rotating basis as terms expire.

Powers and Duties: The Historic Buildings Commission is charged with restoration, preservation, maintenance, management and security of the Town’s three public historic buildings and other historic properties owned by the Town as designated by the Board of Selectmen. Restoration plans must follow the United States Department of Interior Guidelines for Historic Buildings and other federal and state regulations.

Qualifications: Candidates should have an appreciation of our Town’s rich history as reflected in the architecture and use of these ancient buildings. Familiarity with the principles of historic preservation is desirable.

Learn more detail about our Historic Buildings and our Living Museum

Regular Meeting Schedule for 2017: (7:30 PM)

 The Historic Buildings Commission usually meets 1st Tuesday of the month
(please check calendar for possible changes)

 January - No Meeting  April 4 (BHS)  July - no meeting  October 3 (SBL)
 February 7 (OTHM)  May 2 (OTHM)  August 1 (BHS)  November 14 (BHS)
 March 7 (SBL)  June 6 (SBL)  September 5 (OTHM)  December 5 (BHS)
 BHS = Bullet Hill School  SBL = South Britain Library  OTHM = Old Town Hall Museum


Minutes & Agendas:

Listing files in 'Historic Buildings Commission'