Planning Commission

Edward M. Hatfield Chairman

Copyright 2009 Prime Publishers, Inc. - Voices. Used by permission.

Richard Teardo Vice Chairman
Nancy G. Clark Secretary
Donald S. Antilla Member
Robert Tendler Member
Harmon L. Andrews Member
Robert W. Harrison Alternate
Ronald W. Conti Alternate
Alexandra Gittines Alternate


Mission/General Information:

The Planning Commission is responsible for the orderly development of Southbury. The Planning Commission has six regular and three alternate members, elected to staggered terms of four years each.

The duties of the Commission include formulation of the Town's Plan of Conservation and Development, plans for specific areas of the Town such as Main Street South, Southford Village and the Exit 16 Area, review and approval of subdivisions, site plans, special exception applications and referrals from the Board of Selectmen, Zoning Commission and the Zoning Board of Appeals.

One of the responsibilities of the Planning Commission is to ensure the provision of open space in new subdivisions or the payment of a fee in lieu of land. This fee has provided for the assignment of $234,298 of which $130,750 has been paid since its adoption in 2004. These funds are set aside for future open space. 

Meetings are open to the public and everyone is encouraged to attend. 

The Planning Commission may be reached through the Planning Department at (203) 262-0634. 

Additional Information:

Regular Meeting Schedule for 2017: (7:00 PM, Town Hall, Room 205)

 The Planning Commission usually meets 3rd Tuesday of the month
(please check calendar for possible changes)

 January 17
 April 18
 July 18
 October 17
 February 21  May 16  August - no meeting  November 14
 March 21
 June 20
 September 19
 December 12

Minutes & Agendas 

Listing files in 'Planning Commission'