Zoning Commission

Gary J. Giroux Chairman

Beth A. Barrett Vice Chairman
Susan B. Monteleone Secretary
Richard Ashby Member
David H. Dicks Member
Jay Carow Member
Robert Fritzinger Alternate
Martin Ludorf Alternate
Vacancy Alternate


Mission/General Information:

Membership: Six members and three alternates, elected for four-year terms on a rotating basis. The zoning commission meets on the second Wednesday of each month at Southbury Town Hall, 501 Main Street South, room 205 at 7:30 pm (unless otherwise posted). Please be sure to check the specific agenda or contact staff for the most up to date information.

Powers and Duties:The Zoning Commission regulates the height, number of stories and size of buildings, the percentage of lot area that may be occupied; the location and use of buildings and land for all purposes, as well as the nature and location of signs as spelled out in zoning laws.

Qualifications: Members should be able to comprehend the intricacies of the zoning regulations and to apply them judiciously.

Land use department staff provide support to the commission and carry out the daily activities such as processing applications and investigating complaints as well as reviewing and proposing regulation revisions.

The Commission is currently engaged in review of specific sections of its regulations, including those concerning lighting and signs.

Additional Information:

Regular Meeting Schedule for 2017: (7:30 PM, Town Hall, Room 205)

 The Zoning Commission usually meets 2nd Wednesday of the month
(please check calendar for possible changes)

 January 11
 April 12
 July 12
 October 11
 February 8
 May 10
 August - no meeting  November 8
 March 8
 June 14
 September 13
 December 13

Minutes & Agendas:

Listing files in 'Zoning Commission'