Skip to content


8/17/2020 - Southbury Town Hall Reopens to the Public at Limited Hours

Due to possible exposure of employees to COVID-19, Town Hall will be closed to the public the week of November 16th- 20th for the health and safety of residents. Please contact specific Town Hall departments by phone or email for assistance.

Starting Monday, August 17, 2020, Southbury Town Hall offices are open to the Public. The departments included in the reopening are:

  • Assessor
  • Building
  • Economic Development
  • Emergency Management
  • Fire Marshal
  • First Selectman
  • Fiscal
  • Inland Wetlands
  • Planning
  • Probate Court
  • Public Works*
  • Registrar
  • Tax Collector
  • Town Clerk
  • Zoning

The open hours are Monday – Thursday 10:00am – 2:00pm and Friday 10:00am – 12:00pm.

*Public Works Department is located on 60 Peter Rd. Transfer Station is open at regular hours.

Visitors will be admitted on a first come first served basis with possible wait times due to COVID-19 protocol. The public entrance is at the lower corridor of Town Hall, accessed from the lower parking lot, and all other doors will remain locked. There is a greeter stationed at the entrance to manage capacity restrictions. Face masks are required for all visitors.

Appointments are required outside of the open hours: Monday-Thursday 8:00am-10:00am and 2:00pm-4:30pm, Friday 8:00am-10:00am and 12:00pm-1:00pm. For scheduled appointments, visitors must call the specific Town Hall department for admittance. Please visit for department phone numbers.

Any questions regarding reopening can be directed to the First Selectman’s Office at (203) 262-0647.